A mutualised structure at the service of the scientific community

The challenges

Life sciences have benefited greatly over the past 20 years from the spectacular development of genome sequencing technologies, which make data acquisition faster, easier and at much lower costs. This is reflected today in discoveries and progress beyond our ability few years ago, in all disciplines (biology, medicine, agronomy, biodiversity and the environment).

In the light of this evolution, it is essential for French research to remain independent and to retain ownership of its results. To achieve, this, French research must continue to be competitive and efficient in a highly competitive international context.

The infrastructure

Set up thanks to “Investissements d’Avenir” funding in the framework of the “Infrastructures nationales en biologie et santé” project, FRANCE GENOMIQUE is an infrastructure that emerge from the prime objective to strengthen and place at the forefront at the highest level of competitiveness and performance the French capacities in the field of high throughput genomics and associated bioinformatics, in terms of equipment, expertise and innovation.

Integrated governance

FRANCE GENOMIQUE is a UMS (Unité Mixte de Service: CNRS 3628-INRA 1396- Inserm 026) which brings together the four main French public research organisations: CEA, CNRS, INRA and INSERM. Its governance is ISO9001-2015 certified since January 2019.

The FRANCE GENOMIQUE infrastructure involves the majority of French sequencing and bioinformatics platforms in a consortium coordinated by the CEA. It thereby integrates at the national level complementary and renowned competence in genomic analysis (sequencing/genotyping and bioinformatics analyses) to attract national (public or industrial research) and international projects.

At the forefront of innovation

In addition, its coordinated programs in technology watch and technology development of new sequencing and bioinformatics methodologies and technologies enable FRANCE GENOMIQUE to provide the scientific community with access to the newest state-of-the-art expertise and capacities for high throughput sequencing and data processing. Thus FRANCE GENOMIQUE operates both as a developer of innovative approaches and as a collaborator/service provider for projects in the scientific community.

Missions of support and expertise in the service of ambitious projects

FRANCE GENOMIQUE’s mission is to offer the public and private scientific community with access to the best French platforms, consultation and support for their projects, a pool of expertise of the highest caliber as well as the opportunity to participate in ambitious projects at national and international level.

The FRANCE GENOMIQUE infrastructure provides the French public or private scientific community with:

  • leading expertise in genomics and associated bioinformatics, essential to stay in phase with the very rapid evolution of technologies
  • competitive services in genomics and bioinformatics: the proximity between users and an "expert" infrastructure ensures that the scientific exploitation of the data produced will be optimal
  • the possibility of carrying out ambitious projects with high scientific added value and international visibility, exploiting the expertise and capacities of the infrastructure.

A certified Governance

FRANCE GENOMIQUE has set up a governance system, composed of several committees whose members represent the founding parties on the one hand, and on the other hand the members in charge of its management.

In order to ensure the integrity and traceability of its actions, the governance of FRANCE GENOMIQUE obtained ISO9001 certification in January 2019, thus demonstrating the added value of governance on the functioning of the infrastructure.

The management of FRANCE GENOMIQUE is organized around the Executive Committee composed of 7 members in which are represented the institutions most involved in the project (CEA, INRA, CNRS). Its members come from national (Evry) and regional sequencing platforms as well as from the bioinformatics community. The committee is responsible for setting up the infrastructure, defining its general policy, guidelines and ensuring its operability.

The members of the Supervisory Committee are the Presidents (or their representatives) of the four main public research organisations (CEA, CNRS, INRA and Inserm), as well as the co- administrators of the UMS FRANCE GENOMIQUE. This committee oversees recruitment policy, investment strategy and scientific orientations, in collaboration with the Scientific Committee. It is informed of the decisions taken by the Executive Committee and has the right of veto.

The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) is composed of  international experts in the field of genomics and its applications. appointed by the Supervisory Committee on the proposal of the Executive Committee. It is responsible for evaluating the main scientific orientations and technological choices of FRANCE GENOMIQUE.

Renewed in 2021, the SAB gathered:

Prof Heulin Thierry – President

LEMiRE UMR 7265 BIAM, CEA-CNRS- University Aix-Marseille, France

Prof Gabaldón Toni

Barcelona Supercomputing Centre (BSC-CNS), and Institute for Research in Biomedicine (IRB), Spain

Prof Gilson Eric

IRCAN University Côte d’Azur, France

Prof Orlando Ludovic

Centre for Anthropobiology & Genomics of Toulouse (CAGT), CNRS- University of Toulouse, France

Prof Raes Jeroen

VIB – Centre for Microbiology, Rega Institute, Belgium

Prof Tournier-Lasserve Elisabeth

CERVCO, AP-HP Lariboisière- Fernand Widal, France

Prof Van Duijn Cornelia

Nuffield Department of Population Health, University of Oxford, UK

Prof Watson Mick

The Roslin Institute and Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies, University of Edinburgh, UK

Prof Woyke Tanja,

Joint Genome Institute, DOE  Office of Science User Facility, USA

The scientific review committee for project evaluation is composed of two subcommittees: Human Genetics & Health, on one hand, and Biodiversity, on the other hand. It is responsible for the evaluation and selection of projects submitted to the infrastructure by the community.

Composition of the sub-committee for Human Genomics and Health

President : Florent Soubrier

Genetics and cardiometabolic diseases
AP-HP INSERM ICAN, Paris

Corinne Antignac

Genetics and nephropathy
AP-HP INSERM, Paris

Olivier Delattre

Cancer genetics and biology
INSERM, Curie Institute Paris

Emmanuelle Genin

Functional Genomics and Biotechnologies
INSERM CHU, Brest

Cécile Julier

Diabetes Genetics
INSERM, Paris

Jocelyn Laporte

Translational and Neurogenetic Medicine
IGBMC, Strasbourg

Jean-Jacques Panthier

Functional Mouse Genetics
Pasteur Institute, Paris

Antonio Rausell

Clinical Bioinformatics
Imagine Institute INSERM, Paris

Richard Redon

Genomics and Bioinformatics, Thorax Institute
INSERM CHU, Nantes

David Tregouët

Genomics and pathophysiology of cardiovascular diseases
INSERM ICAN, Paris

Composition of the sub-committee for Biodiversity

President : Thierry Heulin

Microbial Genomics
Institute of Environmental Biology and Biotechnology, CEA, Cadarache

Philippe Bertin

Molecular Genetics, Genomics and Microbiology
University of Strasbourg, CNRS, Strasbourg

Didier Boichard

Animal Genetics and Integrative Biology
INRA, Jouy en Josas

Dominique Brunel

Polymorphism of Plant Genomes
INRA, Evry

Jean-Michel Claverie

Biostatistics, Genomics and Microbiology
CNRS, Marseille

Jean-Michel Drezen

Insect biology
CNRS, Tours

Christophe Hitte

Genetics and Development
CNRS, Rennes

Daniel Kahn

Microbial Ecology
INRA, Lyon

Hélène Lucas

Genetics and Plant Breeding
INRA, Paris

Emmanuelle Maguin

Intestinal microbiota
INRA, Paris

Manuel Michaël

Evolution
Biology Institute, Sorbonne, Paris

Michel Gurvan

Bacterial genomics
CNRS, Roscoff

Christophe Plomion

Ecology and Functional Genomics in Forest Trees
INRA Bordeaux

Fabrice Roux

Ecological genomics of adaptation in plant communities
INRA, Toulouse

Jean-Luc Souciet

Molecular Genetics, Genomics and Microbiology, University of Strasbourg
CNRS, Strasbourg

Linda Sperling

Organisation, evolution and stability of Genomes
CNRS, Paris

Alain Vignal

Genetics and physiology of breeding systems
INRA, Toulouse

Michel Werner

Biology of genomes
Jacques Monod Institute, Paris

An International dimension

As part of its mission, FRANCE GENOMIQUE must affirm the positioning of its activities in the international context through the projects that the infrastructure supports, but also through collaborations with international scientific or genomic research promoting entities.

Global Alliance for Genomics and Health

The Global Alliance for Genomic and Health (GA4GH) was created to help accelerate the potential of genomic medicine to advance human health. It brings together more than 400 leading institutions working in health, research, disease awareness, life sciences and information technology. The Global Alliance partners are working together to create a common framework of harmonised approaches to enable the sharing of genomic and clinical data in a responsible, voluntary and secure manner.

Since March 17, 2017, FRANCE GENOMIQUE has been an organizational member of G44GH.

Our expertise

Our platforms

The e-infrastructure

Une structure mutualisée au service de la communauté scientifique

Les enjeux

Les sciences du vivant ont largement bénéficié ces 20 dernières années du développement spectaculaire des technologies de séquençage des génomes, qui rendent l’acquisition de données plus rapide, plus facile et à des coûts beaucoup plus bas. Ceci se traduit aujourd’hui par des découvertes et des progrès hors de portée il y a quelques années, dans toutes les disciplines (biologie, médecine, agronomie, biodiversité et environnement.).

Face à cette évolution, la recherche française doit pouvoir conserver son indépendance et la propriété de ses résultats, et pour cela continuer à être compétitive et performante dans un contexte international fortement concurrentiel.

L’infrastructure

Créée grâce à un financement « Investissements d’Avenir » dans le cadre du projet «Infrastructures nationales en biologie et santé», FRANCE GENOMIQUE est une infrastructure née de la volonté de renforcer et de placer à la pointe de l’état de l’art les capacités françaises dans le domaine de la génomique à haut débit et de la bioinformatique associée, ceci en termes d’équipements, de compétences et d’innovation.

Une gouvernance intégrée

FRANCE GENOMIQUE est une UMS (Unité Mixte de Service : CNRS 3628-INRA 1396- Inserm 026) qui regroupe les quatre principaux organismes de recherche publics français : CEA, CNRS, INRA et INSERM. Sa gouvernance est certifiée ISO9001-2015 depuis Janvier 2019.

L’infrastructure FRANCE GENOMIQUE rassemble la majorité des plateformes de séquençage et de bio-informatique françaises au sein d’un consortium coordonné par le CEA. Elle intègre ainsi à l’échelon national des compétences complémentaires et reconnues d’analyse génomique (séquençage/génotypage et traitement bio-informatique) pour attirer de projets nationaux (recherche publique ou industrielle) et internationaux.

A la pointe de l’innovation

Par ailleurs, ses programmes coordonnés de veille, d’évaluation et de développement permanents des nouvelles méthodologies et technologies de séquençage et de bio-informatique permettent à FRANCE GENOMIQUE de mettre à la disposition de la communauté scientifique une expertise et des capacités qui seront en permanence à la pointe de l’état de l’art international pour le séquençage à haut débit et le traitement des données qui en sont issues. Ainsi FRANCE GENOMIQUE fonctionne à la fois comme développeur d’approches innovantes et comme un collaborateur/prestataire de service pour les projets de la communauté scientifique.

Des missions d'accompagnement et d'expertises au service de projets ambitieux

FRANCE GENOMIQUE a pour mission de proposer à la communauté scientifique publique et privée l’accès aux meilleures plateformes françaises, un accompagnement des projets, le plus haut niveau d’expertise et de compétences mutualisées ainsi que la possibilité de participer à des projets ambitieux au niveau national et international.

L’infrastructure FRANCE GENOMIQUE fournit à la communauté scientifique française publique ou privée :

  • une expertise de pointe en génomique et en bio-informatique associée, indispensable pour constamment rester en phase avec l’évolution extrêmement rapide des technologies
  • des services compétitifs en génomique et bio-informatique : la proximité entre les utilisateurs et une infrastructure « experte » permet de garantir que l’exploitation scientifique des données produites sera optimale
  • la possibilité de mener à bien des projets ambitieux, à haute valeur ajoutée scientifique et à forte visibilité internationale, en exploitant l’expertise et les capacités de l’infrastructure.

Une gouvernance certifiée

FRANCE GENOMIQUE a mis en place une gouvernance, composée de plusieurs comités dont les membres représentent les parties fondatrices d’une part,  et d’autre part les membres en charge son fonctionnement.

Dans un souci de rigueur et de traçabilité de ses actions, la gouvernance de FRANCE GENOMIQUE a obtenu la certification ISO9001 en Janvier 2019, démontrant ainsi la plus-value de la gouvernance sur le fonctionnement de l’infrastructure.

La direction de France Génomique s’est organisée autour du Comité Exécutif composé de 7 membres au sein duquel sont représentées les institutions les plus impliquées dans le projet (CEA, INRA, CNRS). Ses membres proviennent des plateformes de séquençages nationales (Evry) et régionales ainsi que de la communauté bio-informatique. Le comité est chargé de la mise en place de l’infrastructure, il définit sa politique générale, ses orientations et assure son fonctionnement.

Les membres du Comité de Surveillance sont les Présidents (ou leurs représentants) des quatre principaux organismes publics de recherche (CEA, CNRS, INRA et Inserm), ainsi que les co-encadreurs de l’UMS France Génomique. Ce comité supervise la politique de recrutement, la stratégie d’investissement et les orientations scientifiques, en collaboration avec le comité scientifique. . Il est informé des décisions prises par le comité exécutif et a le droit de veto.

Le comité scientifique international (Scientific Advisory Board -SAB) est composé d’experts internationaux dans le domaine de la génomique et de ses applications, nommé par comité exécutif . Il est chargé d’évaluer les grandes orientations scientifiques et les choix technologiques de FRANCE GENOMIQUE.

Renouvelé en 2021, le SAB réuni :

Heulin Thierry – President

LEMiRE UMR 7265 BIAM, CEA-CNRS- University Aix-Marseille, France

Gabaldón Toni

Barcelona Supercomputing Centre (BSC-CNS), and Institute for Research in Biomedicine (IRB), Spain

Gilson Eric

IRCAN University Côte d’Azur, France

Orlando Ludovic

Centre for Anthropobiology & Genomics of Toulouse (CAGT), CNRS- University of Toulouse, France

Raes Jeroen

VIB – Centre for Microbiology, Rega Institute, Belgium

Prof Tournier-Lasserve Elisabeth

CERVCO, AP-HP Lariboisière- Fernand Widal, France

Van Duijn Cornelia

Nuffield Department of Population Health, University of Oxford, UK

Watson Mick

The Roslin Institute and Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies, University of Edinburgh, UK

Woyke Tanja

Joint Genome Institute, DOE  Office of Science User Facility, USA

Le comité scientifique d’évaluation des projets est composé de deux sous-comités : Génétique humaine & santé, d’une part et Biodiversité, d’autre part. Il est responsable de l’évaluation et de la sélection des projets soumis à l’infrastructure par la communauté.

Composition du comité scientifique génomique humaine et santé

Président : Florent Soubrier

Génétique et maladies cardiométabolique
AP-HP INSERM ICAN, Paris

Corinne Antignac

Génétique et néphropathie
AP-HP INSERM, Paris

Olivier Delattre

Génétique et biologie des cancers
INSERM, Institut Curie Paris

Emmanuelle Genin

Génomique Fonctionnelle et Biotechnologies
INSERM CHU, Brest

Cécile Julier

Génétique des Diabètes
INSERM, Paris

Jocelyn Laporte

Médecine translationnelle et neurogénétique
IGBMC, Strasbourg

Jean-Jacques Panthier

Génétique fonctionnelle de la souris
Institut Pasteur, Paris

Antonio Rausell

Bioinformatique clinique
Institut Imagine INSERM, Paris

Richard Redon

Génomique et Bioinformatique Institut du thorax
INSERM CHU, Nantes

David Tregouët

Génomique et pathophysiologie des maladies cardiovasculaires
INSERM ICAN, Paris

Composition du comité scientifique génomique biodiversité

Président : Thierry Heulin

Génomique Microbienne
Institut de Biologie Environnementale et de Biotechnologie, CEA, Cadarache

Philippe Bertin

Génétique Moléculaire, Génomique et Microbiologie
Université de Strasbourg, CNRS, Strasbourg

Didier Boichard

Génétique animale et Biologie intégrative
INRA, Jouy en Josas

Dominique Brunel

Polymorphisme des génomes végétaux
INRA, Evry

Jean-Michel Claverie

Biostatistique, Genomique et Microbiologie
CNRS, Marseille

Jean-Michel Drezen

Biologie de l’insecte
CNRS, Tours

Christophe Hitte

Génétique et Développement
CNRS, Rennes

Daniel Kahn

Ecologie Microbienne
INRA, Lyon

Hélène Lucas

Génétique et amélioration des plantes
INRA, Paris

Emmanuelle Maguin

Microbiote intestinal
INRA, Paris

Manuel Michaël

Evolution
Institut de biologie, Sorbonne, Paris

Michel Gurvan

Génomique bactérienne
CNRS, Roscoff

Christophe Plomion

Ecologie et Génomique Fonctionnelle chez les arbres forestiers
INRA Bordeaux

Fabrice Roux

Génomique écologique de l’adaptation dans les communautés végétales
INRA, Toulouse

Jean-Luc Souciet

Génétique Moléculaire, Génomique et Microbiologie, Université de Strasbourg
CNRS, Strasbourg

Linda Sperling

Organisation, évolution et stabilité des génomes
CNRS, Paris

Alain Vignal

Génétique et physiologie des systèmes d’élevage
INRA, Toulouse

Michel Werner

Biologie des génomes
Institut Jacques Monod, Paris

Un contexte international

Dans le cadre de sa mission, FRANCE GENOMIQUE doit affirmer le positionnement de ses activités dans le contexte international à travers les projets que l’infrastructure soutient, mais aussi par des collaborations avec des entités internationales scientifiques ou de promotion de la recherche génomique.

Global Alliance for Genomics and Health

L’Alliance mondiale pour la génomique et la santé (Global Alliance for Genomic and Health, GA4GH) a été créée pour aider à accélérer le potentiel de la médecine génomique afin de faire progresser la santé humaine. Elle regroupe plus de 400 institutions de premier plan travaillant dans la santé, la recherche, la sensibilisation à la maladie, les sciences de la vie et les technologies de l’information. Les partenaires de l’Alliance mondiale travaillent ensemble pour créer un cadre commun d’approches harmonisées pour permettre le partage responsable, volontaire et sécurisé des données génomiques et cliniques.

Depuis le 17 mars 2017, France Génomique est un membre organisationnel de G44GH.

Nos expertises

Nos plateformes

L'e-Infrastructure